top of page

"Spreading My Wings Through Darkness and Light." See Ya 2017! 2018 I'MA SLAY YOU!


Spreading my wings through darkness and light!

HAPPY NEW YEAR! For most people the new year is a time for reflection, re-evaluations, new beginnings, new goals and resolutions. But why does it have to be the New Year to reflect/evaluate and pursue dreams? Why can't it be any other day other than January 1st? January 1st really is just another ordinary day and really has no power or meaning except what we choose to give it. "Traditionally" January 1 has been socially and commercially labeled as such - the day when we start clean, move forward and become a new person.

Although it may sound hypocritical of me right now, but given my own circumstances that's what I'm viewing today as. 2017 was NOT a good year for me. Don't get me wrong, musically it has been amazing and I am enroute to chase after my dreams. I learned that I have a huge support support and know who I can depend on SHOULD/IF I fall into my darkest corners again. I was caught in my own trap, and plagued with recurring thoughts that eventually destroyed me for a bit and I lost all hope for humanity and common decency. But in all this darkness, I learned a lot about myself and I am ready to grow from all that has happened. The most common question asked today is, "What is/are your New Year's resolution(s)?" I grouped mine into 3 main categories and mini sub-categories.

1) Take More Risks

I've learned this past year just how fast time passes and with a blink of an eye things can change for the better or worse - for me it was the latter. Or so it seems. "Old Natalia" was quite conservative, described as a creature of habits and let a lot of outside factors run her life. But even though 2017 was quite shitty, I learned that I have so much potential to do a lot of things that I never would have thought of doing.

a) Music. #nataliachaimusic has gained crazy momentum given my humble start singing and performing this past March of 2017. Still lots of work to do but one of the biggest risks that I am willing and wanting to take. Investing more into my music which involves voice lessons, collaborations and re-visiting my piano classical roots and theory to grow my art.

b) Traveling and exploring the world - alone! It was so liberating when I went to LA. One of the best experiences I've ever had. Meeting new people, hearing their stories and sharing my own created connections that I never would have thought of. The world is our playground to be discovered!

2) "Laid-Back" Hustler

I am a worrier, perfectionist, over-analyst and I care way too much for my own good. This leads to high blood pressure, physical and emotional exhaustion and ulcers I'm pretty sure. I want to please people and I have this inner want for people to like me and I do care what people think of me. Insecure? Yes at times I will admit. This happens everyday at work in the pharmacy, when I'm writing music, and especially when I'm performing. So this year, I'm going to resolve to a much lesser worrier, perfectionist, over-analyst and people pleaser version of myself. I am always on the go and I love it and will continue to hustle in all areas of my life. This difference in 2018 is that I will make it a point to slow down, pause, take a break, go for a massage, make time for myself and others when the need comes to re-energize.

3) Lifting Myself by Taking the Focus Off ME but ONTO OTHERS

a) Family. My parents, especially my Mom raised 3 bad-ass successful daughters. Who knew there were so many underlying issues. 2017 saw an unfortunate event that turned things around that 2018 I will start to become better at. Focusing on my parents, sisters and my nephew so that we become the most powerful dysfunctional yet functional family that we can every be!

b) Community Work. I think we can agree that we live in a somewhat selfish, individualistic world where all we think about are our own needs. Growing up, my Mom always taught us to help those who are not as fortunate as we are. Life does suck sometimes but we are pretty damn lucky. Use what we have as resources to help others and to spread positivity and the world will be a better place. In turn, our very own souls will be at peace and up-lifted.

Instead of waiting for next year to evaluate how well I've stuck to these resolutions, I will reflect every 3 months to see how much progress I've made. Also finding someone who will make you accountable to your own resolutions like having a work out buddy so that you're not only accountable to yourself but to someone else.

This picture was me visiting LA' s OUE Skyscraper where you have a 360 degree view of LA's landscape. I found my wings that I will use to soar away from all of the negativity towards purpose, happiness, beauty and hope. The darkness represents the unavoidable lows we will have throughout life but in every dark moment there will be always be light to guide our way out from this darkness. It's just part of life - we live and we learn!

SO WHAT ARE YOUR 2018 NEW YEAR"S RESOLUTIONS?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page