top of page

Are Your Lucky Charms and Pre-Set Routines Superstitious or Auspcious to Your Overall Music Performa

Being Chinese I've already got "superstitions" instilled into me by default. It could be superstition or an attempt at creating a sense of familiarity, safeness and confidence before going on stage and becoming vulnerable. Some of the biggest names in music biz turn into creatures of habit when on tour and it's interesting to know what pre-show rituals or lucky charms they do before they deliver an amazing show for their fans.

"What about you Natalia?" I am very new to the music scene and only started singing and performing this past March. My voice is my main focus for improvement. Especially when the nerves start to settle in and I start critiquing myself in my head in real time, my voice will give out! I don't believe I have a set ritual before each gig but: 1) I do enjoy a cup of hot herbal tea; and 2) a mental cheer to me get into my zen and focus. It goes a little something like this: "Natalia you are amazing, you are talented, you are bad-ass, you will sing your heart out and if you happen to make a mistake, who cares?! Just have fun and share your music with the world because they are here to listen to YOU! So let's do this Natalia Chai!!" Yeaa a little narcissistic and vain but it helps me feel a little more confident going into my set. For me, it's more auspicious to my sets than superstitious.

1) John Legend

This gentleman is not only hella talented but he has the most beautiful and powerful voice you'll ever hear. He can sing and play the piano for 2 hours straight (I lose my voice within 45 minutes!!!) 5 days a week when on tour - how does he NOT get laryngitis?!? He takes care of his vocals and avoids irritants like alcohol and drinks lots of water. AND he also eats half a rotisserie chicken before every performance - great source of protein for stamina and energy!

2) Queen B

I've always wondered what Queen B does before each of her shows because she slays every single live performance. I want in on all of her rituals if I want to be able to slay all of my performances too! Going on a world tour is stressful enough how does she manage it? Beyonce actually eases stress by spending a few hours relaxing before each show. She says a prayer with her band, stretches, and then she sits in her massage chair when getting her hair and make=up done. Then she has a hour alone time when she listens to her playlist. I wonder what's on her playlist?

3) The Rolling Stones

How does one of the biggest rock'n'roll legends roll before their show? Apparently The Rolling Stones have many strange requests while on tour but the one that I would never think of is for their guitarist Keith Richards - ie. he has to have a shepherd's pie with an unbroken pie crust because he likes to break the crust himself, or he will not go onstage! HUH!

4) The Foo Fighters

Instead of a group huddle and prayer, The Foo Fighters listen and dance to Michael Jackson's "Off the Wall" while taking Jägermeister shots (at least four Jäger bombs) before every show. This ritual is to bring good luck!

5) Led Zeppelin

This British rock band was known for outrageous acts while on earlier tours such as trashing hotel rooms and throwing TV sets out of windows but as the years rolled by, believe that this same group started to prefer a mug of hot tea (LIKE ME) to get ready for a performance and freshly-pressed shirts and slacks - more specifically their frontman Robert Plant. This ritual helps Plant get "in the mood" before each show!

Fellow musicians and performers - what are some of your pre-show rituals? Are they suspicions or more auspicious??


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page