top of page

#WorldMentalHealthDay

Today is World Mental Health Day. October 10. A day recognized every year for global mental health education, awareness, and advocacy to end the social stigma placed on mental health conditions. As a pharmacist I see the frequency and the extent of mental health conditions. I see the constant battle that my patients go through. As a pharmacist, I am the most accessible public health care provider and hear the stories of struggle, defeat, despair and the most rewarding, inspiring perseverance. The World Health Organization on an international level recognizes global work in progress that helps break barriers and make mental health issues a reality for people worldwide. Unfortunately, it has touched me on a personal note. I understand why people hide - they are NOT avoiding the issues nor are they WEAK. It is because of society and too often many lost lives could have been saved. Today I would like to share five songs that share the truth about mental health issues. Part of the battle is being able to talk openly but we don't.

For many music is a place of solace, private, consolation, an escape, a way to make sense of feelings that are otherwise difficult to articulate with our friends and family because of fear. Music is therapeutic and can provide strength and hope through lyrics and instrumentation. Music has so much power and can serve as the platform to end the mental health stigma. Music can help us talk to each other, redirect conversation, heal and help us understand. Here are 5 songs that I think speaks volumes about mental health issues.

1. Linkin Park "Leave Out All The Rest"

When my time comes, forget the wrong that I’ve done/ Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed”

July 20, 2017 Chester Bennington, the lead singer of Linkin Park was found dead of suspected suicide. Bennington was known to be open about his troubled life since he was a child with drugs and sexual abuse. Released in 2008, was it foreshadowing Bennington's real struggle with his own well-being? Very sad when you really listen to the lyrics - it appears that even through his adult years, he is trying to move past his troubled childhood and remember only the good things but also questions that when you're gone that your life is insignificant.

2. The Strumbellas "Spirits"

I got guns in my head and they won’t go / Spirits in my head and they won’t go

Simon Ward, the lead singer wrote this song to describe his battle to "be a good person" but very much also also resonates our individual battle against our "inner demons/Trying to change and become a better person in life". The spirits, the voice, the pressure that society, and that we place on ourselves.

3. Sia "Breathe Me"

Ouch, I have lost myself again / Lost myself and I am nowhere to be found / Yeah I think that I might break / Lost myself again, and I feel unsafe.

Known to wear wigs that never allows her to show her face to the public, Sia is a songwriting machine for herself and many other artists and writes brutal honesty about her own problems with addiction to drugs and alcohol and mental health. Perhaps the wig is a metaphorical way of telling her fans about her own personal struggle as can be heard in "Breathe Me" when she sings about self-harm, and the thoughts of someone who's in a downhill battle.

4. Coldplay "Amsterdam"

My star is fading. And I see no chance of release. And I know I'm dead on the surface, but I am screaming underneath

Written from the perspective of the mental health sufferer, the lyrics describe someone in despair, but trying to hide and cover up. Then towards the song, a grander sound and more faster tempo comes in to confess just how close the sufferer really was to ending it all until "YOU" - a friend, a family, a stranger, time - reached out and saved their life.

5. Logic ft. Alessia Cara and Khalid "1-800-273-8255"

It’s holding on, though the road’s long/ And seeing light in the darkest things/ And when you stare at your reflection/ Finally knowing who it is/ I know that you’ll thank God you did

I am absolutely in love with this song - from the first time I heard it on the radio and literally 2 days ago when I was driving to work and heard the interview with Logic explaining the events that inspired him to write this song was so powerful! The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is the phone number of the title of this song. (The Canadian Equivalent is The Canadian Association for Suicide Prevention ) This song imitates the phone call conversation that happens between a caller who is contemplating suicide and the NSPL representative who offers a non-judgemental, empathetic and listening ear that helps the caller decide to "finally wanna be alive".

If You or someone you know is struggling with mental health illness, start by simply asking "Are you okay?" There are many avenues for help including the ones closest to home. It is very easy to close off (trust me I know) but you don't have to go through it alone. There is always help!

I am working on a project that will be released January of 2018 to help propel the end to mental health stigma! Keep your eyes and ears peeled! Let this blog be the first step! What are YOUR songs that you find helped you and/or others you know through difficult times of mental health issues?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page