top of page

"Why Do You Have Holes in Your Pants?"

I was riding in the back seat with my 6 year old nephew, Isaac and we were having a very interesting conversation about the going rate that children get these days from the Toothfairy! I was shocked by how high it is - I probably only received a whopping $0.50 per tooth and that was only for maybe only 5 missing teeth then the Toothfairy suddenly didn't like me :( My nephew however was receiving "$4 Monies"!! I couldn't believe! How does this conversation relate to this week's fashion blog - well this is how the rest of the conversation transpired.

Isaac: I got 4 monies for my missing tooth. (as he holds up 4 fingers to show me exactly how much 4 monies is)

Me: Wow!! 4 monies!! Do you know how much A "EE" (chinese for Aunt) got? Only $0.50! Do you get that much for all of your teeth?

Isaac: Yup!

Me: You're going to be rich! Because that's 4 monies x average 30 teeth that an adult has so that's 120 monies you will earn!

Isaac: Yea, I wish I can have that much when I grow up!

Me: You will and you definitely can earn more but you have to work very hard for it. You have to work hard in school, be nice to people, work hard when you start your job and then you can be like A "EE" and have a good living! But I work very hard to get it!

Isaac: (pauses, takes his time responding, looks down at my ripped jeans, and has a very puzzled look) So if you say you have lots of monies, then how come your pants are ripped?!

I started laughing soooo hard and shocked that a 6 year old can think soooo critically and make that connection between how much money an individual makes and the quality of clothes that that individual can afford.

Me: This is called fashion! A "EE" wearing ripped jeans doesn't mean that I am poor!

This is why I admire children so much - they say it like it is and what's really on their minds! So innocent yet raw!

I confess, I have considered saving money by making my own ripped jeans from my other perfectly non ripped jeans but thought I'd save myself the horrors of DIY projects when I know nothing about the combination of fabric, scissors and me! You've seen me wear these jeans in previous fashion blogs and this week, I would like to zone in on my two essential jean pieces from DYNAMITE!

A flattering high rise, and a super skinny leg so versatile, you'll never want to take them off. Ladies you can pair them with your favourite tee-shirt, off-the-shoulder look, cropped shirt, or your favourite jacket for the upcoming fall season!

This is no doubt my "go-to" pair of jeans! This light wash feature is perfect for all seasons and goes well with almost any top and any footwear! This wardrobe staple can be dressed down casually with a lazy tank or tee-shirt, sweater, bomber jacket and a pair of sneakers! OR we can dress it up with a killer pair of hot red snake skin pumps!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page