top of page

The "Keys" to My Songwriting

Singer-songwriters have their main instrument that gets their creative juices flowing, melody singing and words talking. For me, you've guessed it, is my piano AND keyboard.

1. BALDWIN upright

This piano has been through it all with me since I started learning and playing the piano when I was 6. It went through all the grueling examination practicing hours to the many piano recital preparations throughout the years, to now my instrument of choice when I wrote my songs off my CONNECTIONS EP album and now my new songs that I am currently writing for my new full length album!! (I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS PROJECT!)

Baldwin may or may not be as recognizable as YAMAHA, STEINWAY & SONS or KAWAI but BALDWIN is actually one of America's top keyboard instruments and piano manufacturers that was founded in 1862 Cincinatti, Ohio by a piano teacher Dwight Hamilton Baldwin who had a vision to create the best piano sound quality and piano that America has seen. There is so much history that I just cannot divulge into but here are a few facts that I've found interesting and the link to read about "THE BALDWIN LEGACY" can be found here! --> http://www.baldwinpiano.com/

COOL FACT #1: Baldwin has been America's only piano company to make and distribute pianos to all price ranges in the piano market!

COOL FACT #2: Baldwin pianos are famous for their touch, tone, and durability.

COOL FACT #3: Baldwin pianos have been the piano of choice for many artists including Aaron Copeland, Liberace, Ben Folds, Miley Cyrus, Amy Lee from Evanescence.

I wrote the majority of my EP album CONNECTIONS on this beauty notably Contenders, Victims and Who Are We!

2. CASIO LK-270

This 61 key touch sensitive, lighted keyboard is not a full size keyboard but it is affordable with 570 total onboard tones, 180 rhythms and digital effects. Whenever I get bored with just playing my 7th and 9th chords and imagine what my new songs would sound like fully produced, my Casio serves just that purpose. If the room with the BALDWIN is occupied, then I do my writing in my room with my CASIO. I've written the majority of "My Priority" and a lot of my new material on this CASIO. In addition, she follows me to every open mic, busking gig, showcases and photo-shoots! Although not my dream keyboard that I hope to obtain in the future, she has been amazing!

3. DREAM PIANOS!

a) Yamaha­™ C3 Neo grand piano is Alicia Keys' very own piano that she uses in her own studio recordings and its sound has been engineered and sampled to create Alicia Keys' sound on many piano production software.

b) Schimmel Crystal Grand Piano is such a COOL piano!!! I doubt that I will be able to get my hands on one but if I get a chance to play one key, my life will be complete! Dream on Natalia!

I'm all for humble beginnings and I've developed such strong, emotional attachments to my BALDWIN and CASIO that I will not be replacing them any time soon! Both have followed me through so much in time, through every highs and lows, through every emotion and life experience - they are a huge part of who I am and define my music. This is where Natalia Chai's music originates from and many more to come!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page